Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Amstrad Mania

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:12 pm

straight from from the readme.txt

CPCE features three different executable files, each one for a
different platform and with different requirements:
- CPCE.EXE (DOS) requires a 286 CPU, VGA graphics and DOS 3.0.
It supports SVGA graphics, joysticks and SoundBlaster compatible sound
cards.
- CPCE32.EXE (DPMI, DOS protected mode interface) requires a
386 CPU, VGA graphics and DOS 3.0. It supports external DPMI extenders
such as CWSDPMI, SVGA graphics, joysticks and SoundBlaster compatible
sound cards.
- CPCE95.EXE (WIN32) requires a 386 CPU, VGA graphics and
Windows 95. It supports SVGA graphics, joystick and most digital sound
cards.

----
Amstrad has a HI-RES mode for some games, you might need to turn it off.
press F10 for menu, and un check it.

also try changing the emulator.ini to run the DOS version of the emulator.

C:\GameBase\AmstradMania v7\Emulators\CPCE\CPCE32.EXE or CPCE.EXE

one of them might work.
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:41 pm

Hi Mad,

Thanks for the help. Have tried to switch either to CPCE.EXE and CPCE32.EXE but I get a garbled video screen when setting a low res. I tried with 320x240. I think this is might due to the fact that both DOS versions cannot handle the arcade VGA video card I am using.
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Sat Oct 10, 2015 4:39 pm

Hi Mad,

I am getting back with the issue I have with CPCE as I am trying to display a non interlaced resolution.

the CPCE.exe and CPCE32.exe will definitely not work and give both back a garbled picture. I have searched over the net and it comes out that the CPCE95 executable can display a 256x288 non interlaced resolution. I have set Width and Height to 3 and 5 as described in the text file but no luck and still having CPCE at 640*480. I have tried different other combinations but no result :roll: I am using actually the CPCE version 1.94

Here below the CPCE.ini and the CPCE script file :

[CPCE] ; configuration file

DEBUG=0
HI-RES=1
FRAMESKIP=0
REAL_SPEED=1
PERFORMANCE=0
IMAGE_WIDTH=1
IMAGE_HEIGHT=2
IMAGE_DITHER=0
IMAGE_DOUBLE=0
IMAGE_SCANLINES=5
IMAGE_FULLSCREEN=1
IMAGE_FIXGAMMA=0
SOUND=1
SOUND_QUALITY=2
SOUND_16BITS=1
SOUND_STEREO=1
SOUND_FILTER=0
SOUND_LOG=0
AUTORUN=1
RAM_SIZE=1
ROM_PATH=ROM
ROM_TYPE=2
ROM_TYPE0=CPC464.ROM
ROM_TYPE1=CPC664.ROM
ROM_TYPE2=CPC6128.ROM
ROM_TYPE3=CPC464.ROM
ROM_TYPE4=CPC6128.ROM
ROM_TYPE5=CPC6128.ROM
ROM_EXTRAS=;;;;;;CPCADOS.ROM
ROM_EXTRAS_DISABLE=0
ROM_LANGUAGE=0
SNAP_PATH=SNAP
DISC_PATH=DISC
FILE_PATH=FILE
FILE_ENCRYPT=1
TAPE_PATH=TAPE
TAPE_BYPASS=0
TAPE_SPEEDUP=1
TAPE_COMPATIBLE=0
JOYSTICK=1
PRINTER=1
TURBO_SPEED=0
TURBO_VALUE=0
GREEN_SCREEN=0
CRTC_TYPE=1
YM2149_TYPE=0
YM2149_LOG=0
YM2149_VOLUME=9
SYMBIFACE2=0
SYMBIFACE2_ROM=CPCE_ROM.BIN
SYMBIFACE2_MASTER=CPCE_HDA.BIN
SYMBIFACE2_SLAVE=CPCE_HDB.BIN
JOYSTICK_KEYS=48504B4D5253
KEYBOARD_ALT=0
GUNSTICK=0

; DOS recommended options
DOS.SOUND_QUALITY=0

; DPMI recommended options
DPMI.IMAGE_WIDTH=2
DPMI.IMAGE_HEIGHT=3

; WIN32 recommended options
WIN32.IMAGE_WIDTH=3
WIN32.IMAGE_HEIGHT=5
WIN32.SOUND_QUALITY=2
WIN32.SOUND_16BITS=1
WIN32.IMAGE_DOUBLE=1


****************************************************
;**********************************
;* CPCE 1.94 Script *
;* Written for AmstradMania v6 *
;* by .mad. 2012 *
;**********************************

;If Key_HIRES CONTAINS(NO)
; Add_CLP( /h-)

;If Key_AUTORUN CONTAINS(YES)
; Add_CLP( /a-)

;If Key_QWERTY CONTAINS(YES)
; Add_CLP( /l1)

;If Key_464 CONTAINS(YES)
; Add_CLP( /m0)

;If Key_AMSDOS CONTAINS(NO)
; Add_CLP( /x+)

;If Key_TAPECOMPATIBLE CONTAINS(YES)
; Add_CLP( /l+)


;Set Key_QWERTY CONTAINS(YES)
; Add_CLP( /l1)

;---------------------
;Display Loading Notes
;---------------------
If Key_Message CONTAINS(*)
Show_Message(%message_value%)
End If
;------------------------------
; Warning Message - Not Working
;------------------------------
If VersionComment CONTAINS(*not 100%*||*not working*||*doesn't work*)
Show_Message(This game may not work properly.)
End If
;------------------------------
; Controls for Light Gun Games
;------------------------------
If Key_control CONTAINS(Gun)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||GUNSTICK||1)
Else
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||GUNSTICK||0)
End If
;---------------------------------------------------------
;Autorun YES (default) / NO
;set to NO if using Keystroke Commands or multi Disk Game.
;---------------------------------------------------------
If Key_AUTORUN CONTAINS(NO)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||AUTORUN||0)
Else
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||AUTORUN||1)
End If

;------------------------------------------------------------
;TAPES Default (64k) use machine=cpc6128 to run in 128k mode
;------------------------------------------------------------
If GameType CONTAINS(cdt)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||ROM_TYPE||0)
If Key_machine CONTAINS(CPC6128)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||ROM_TYPE||2)
End If
End If
;-------------------------------------------------------------
;Change ROM - machine=cpc464 , "cpc664" or "cpc6128" (Default)
;-------------------------------------------------------------
If GameType CONTAINS(dsk)
If Key_machine CONTAINS(CPC464)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||ROM_TYPE||0)

ElseIf Key_machine CONTAINS(CPC664)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||ROM_TYPE||1)

ElseIf Key_machine CONTAINS(CPC6128)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||ROM_TYPE||2)

Else
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||ROM_TYPE||2)
End If
;-------------------------------------------------------------------------
;Insert Multiple Disks into Drive A and B (if not Mult-Disk Eject Drive B)
;-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If NumGameFiles > 1
Show_Message(You will need to swap tape / flip disks manually)
End If

End If
;---------------------------
;Insert Gamefile in Emulator
;---------------------------
Add_CLP(%gamepathfile%)

;------------------------------------
;Send keyboard strokes command "|CPM"
;Auto Run must be turned OFF if using keystrokes commands or multi disk games.
; machine will reset when inserting 2nd disk
;---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If Key_load CONTAINS(cpm)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||AUTORUN||0)
Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([4]{C123}cpm{Enter}||50)

;----------------------------------------------------------
; wait 10 seconds for CPM to load then type filename at A>
;----------------------------------------------------------
ElseIf Key_load CONTAINS(*)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||AUTORUN||0)
Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([4]{C123}cpm{Enter}[-100][9]%load_value%{Enter}[1]||50)

ElseIf Key_run CONTAINS(*)
Set_INI_Value(1||CPCE||AUTORUN||0)
Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([4]run@%run_value%{Enter}||50)

Else
Run_Emulator()
End If
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:36 pm

only you will know what will work on your machine.
it's just a case of trial and error.

mess about with all three IMAGE settings

IMAGE_WIDTH=1
IMAGE_HEIGHT=2
IMAGE_DOUBLE=0

DPMI.IMAGE_WIDTH=2
DPMI.IMAGE_HEIGHT=3

WIN32.IMAGE_WIDTH=3
WIN32.IMAGE_HEIGHT=5

IMAGE_WIDTH=<0-3>
0 means 320, 1 means 256, 2 means 336 and 3 means 384.

IMAGE_HEIGHT=<0-5>
0 means 200, 1 means 224, 2 means 240, 3 means 256, 4 means 272 and 5 means 288.

DOS and DPMI versions don't support 272 or 288 pixels
with IMAGE_DOUBLE disabled because of VGA limitations.

IMAGE_DITHER=<0-3>
0 means no effects, 1 dithering only, 2 blending only, 3 both effects.

IMAGE_DOUBLE=<0/1>
(DOS and DPMI users require SVGA; WIN32 users need a desktop as big as the chosen image size twofold).
Neo-Rio
GB64 Team
Contact:
Location: Australia
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 11:02 pm

Re: Amstrad Mania

Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:19 am

Links are dead for the Amstrad Gamebase.

Any new links?
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Amstrad Mania

Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:51 am

AmstradMania v7 2014 by Sparky (3.4GB) - from Dax's uploads.
https://mega.nz/#!q1QTBYCR!55PkCz4_0OFx ... gPHUhtVFAU

Not sure about a newer release.
i guess it has been updated though. ;)
dax
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Location: Poland
Posts: 688
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:45 pm

Re: Amstrad Mania

Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:32 pm

I always upload THE NEWEST version available with eventually small updates. I don't remember now what is inside, but for sure not older and 100% working :)
I love Gamebase's creators and compilations

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests