Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

GameBase Amiga v1.6 ADF Quick Fix

Discuss the Commodore Amiga database that uses the GameBase Frontend.

Moderator: Jimbo

jclampy
New Member
Location: Oceania
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:50 am

GameBase Amiga v1.6 ADF Quick Fix

Sat May 11, 2013 11:17 pm

:?: Maybe this could be stickied if you think it is helpful to enough people? :?:

Ok everyone, here is a quick type up.
I will probably make this post look a bit nicer later today when I get a chance.

I am calling it -Beta for now because the WinUAE and WinFellow scripts have room for improvements. You are welcome to post here your ideas/advice or improved scripts. :)

Here is a copy&paste excerpt from the documentation:
Name: GameBase Amiga v1.6 ADF Quick Fix
Description: Rearrange Multi-Disk Game ZIPs into an Combined Game ZIP
Date: 2 May 2013
Author: JClampy
Comment: Useful if wanting to send the ZIP extracted ADF Game files to emulators
Note: This is not released and is not supported by the GameBase Amiga creators

About;
This is a quick fix I put together so that you can setup GameBase Amiga to first extract ADF game files from their ZIP files before sending them to emulators. This is because some emulators (WinFellow for example) do not support ZIP files. By default GameBase Amiga is setup to only send the ZIP files straight to emulators and if you tried to extract the ADF files from the ZIP files first before sending them to the emulators you would run into problems. The problem is with the multiple disks of multi-disk ADF games being stored in multiple ZIP files. The current version of GameBase would extract disk1.zip, find disk1.adf, stop extracting any further, and send that one disk1.adf to the emulators only. This is because GameBase currently only extracts as far as required to find a chosen supported file type (in this case .adf) so it stops at disk1 thinking that is all it needs to do. To solve this issue you must have one ZIP file per game, so all disks of a multi-disk ADF game need to be in one combined zip file. That is the purpose of this quick fix; to rearrange multi-disk game ZIPs into an 'game combined' ZIP. It is called a quick fix because it does not modify the GameBase Amiga .mdb database. All it does is basically cram all of a games multi-disks into the disk1.zip file and therefore avoids having to modify the .mdb database. Also, logically this means you won't be able to send multi-disk ADF games as multiple ZIP disks to emulators as you used to because they are now in an 'game combined' disk ZIP format. YOU WILL now be able to run any Amiga emulator you like that can utilise or requires the ADF file format from GameBase Amiga. Example setting and script files will be included in this package to get you going with all the current Amiga emulators available.
Here is where download is; (Under 'File' menu click download to download the whole ZIP file in one go)
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B_1H2j6 ... sp=sharing

Please don't post or link this file anywhere else, since there maybe improvements or advancements posted to this thread so it is best if people were coming here for the latest info/updates. Thanks.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Future Improvements; (these are more like suggestions for a future GameBase Amiga revision)
<GameBase Amiga .mdb database will need to be modified for the following changes:>
* Rename the game ADF files to get rid of commas, spaces, extra dots, and any other characters that can cause conflicts.
* Rename the game ZIP files to get rid of commas, spaces, extra dots, and any other characters that can cause conflicts.
* The commas in filenames breaks the command line usage of the WinUAE diskswapper feature.
* Having two fullstops in filenames one after the other conflicts with Clrmamepro processing.
* Rename game ZIP files to be more meaningful and remove Disk1 or DiskA from ZIP filenames.
* Rename all multi-disk game ADF files to DiskA, DiskB, DiskC, etc instead of Disk1, Disk2, Disk3, etc creating a standard naming format that is used throughout and because no game has anywhere near 26 disks. This will also solve another issue that occurs at the moment; for example; Disk1, Disk10, Disk11, Disk2, Disk3, etc as you can see the ordering gets muddled.
* Replace any old ADF version games with new ones and add ADF games that are now available.
* WHDLoad games should be changed to .HDF and listed in the main window with the .ADF games (.IPF games should be listed here as well). This will solve two current issues with GameBase v1.6 the first being to easily allow the choice of emulator to run a game at that particular instance (just as we have been able to do with .ADF games). Secondly, by being able to specify .HDF as a supported game file type means we don't have .ZIP listed (having .ZIP listed as a supported game file type breaks all file types because all game files are zipped). Lastly .HDF from what I have been told also removes WHDLoad from the equation as we can send .HDF files straight to emulators. All three of these points adds up to the fact that we would have the option to use alternative emulators for WHD games instead of only WinUAE. Another bonus of having all games & types listed in the main view is we can make 'filter lists' for just ADF or HDF or SPS games.


12 May 2013 = Initial Beta Release (WinUAE & WinFellow scripts have room for improvement).
Last edited by jclampy on Sun May 12, 2013 1:10 pm, edited 17 times in total.
jclampy
New Member
Location: Oceania
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:50 am

Originally included FS-UAE Script

Sat May 11, 2013 11:32 pm

Here is an excerpt of the 'working part' of the FS-UAE Script.
This is from the one included in the archive from the first post.

Code: Select all

; Now lets set our base settings, you can add whatever settings you want from the above lists here:
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||title||GameBase Amiga v1.6 ADF Quick Fix)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||amiga_model||A500)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||fullscreen||0)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||keep_aspect||0)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||fsaa||0)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||accuracy||1)

; Attach correct Kickstart ROM. (You will need to change path and filename to what you are using)
; For example: C:\GameBase\GameBase Amiga\Emulators\Kickstarts\KS_ROM_v1.3_(A500,A1000,A2000)_rev_34.5_(256k).rom
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||kickstart_file||%dbpath%\Kickstarts\KS_ROM_v1.3_(A500,A1000,A2000)_rev_34.5_(256k).rom)

; Eject previous game disks from all emulated Floppy Drives.
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_drive_0||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_drive_1||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_drive_2||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_drive_3||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_0||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_1||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_2||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_3||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_4||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_5||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_6||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_7||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_8||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_9||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_10||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_11||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_12||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_13||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_14||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_15||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_16||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_17||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_18||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_19||)

; While playing a game in FS-UAE press [F12] to bring up the menu where you can change which disk is in the emulated floppy drive.
; Attach the main game disk and any other disks if launching a multi-disk game.
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_drive_0||%gamepathfile%)

If NumGameFiles > 1
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_0||%gamepathfile%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_1||%gamepathfile(1)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 2
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_2||%gamepathfile(2)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 3
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_3||%gamepathfile(3)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 4
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_4||%gamepathfile(4)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 5
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_5||%gamepathfile(5)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 6
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_6||%gamepathfile(6)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 7
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_7||%gamepathfile(7)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 8
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_8||%gamepathfile(8)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 9
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_9||%gamepathfile(9)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 10
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_10||%gamepathfile(10)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 11
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_11||%gamepathfile(11)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 12
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_12||%gamepathfile(12)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 13
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_13||%gamepathfile(13)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 14
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_14||%gamepathfile(14)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 15
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_15||%gamepathfile(15)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 16
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_16||%gamepathfile(16)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 17
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_17||%gamepathfile(17)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 18
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_18||%gamepathfile(18)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 19
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\Config.fs-uae||floppy_image_19||%gamepathfile(19)%)
End If

; While playing a game in FS-UAE press [F12] to bring up the menu where you can change which disk is in the emulated floppy drive.
; We have finished modifying the FS-UAE default config file (for example C:\GameBase\GameBase Amiga\Emulators\FSUAEv222Stable\Config.fs-uae)
; and we will now launch our game. Since we have modified the FS-UAE default config file we don't need to set any CLP (command line parameters) here.
Run_Emulator()
jclampy
New Member
Location: Oceania
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:50 am

Originally included WinUAE Script

Sat May 11, 2013 11:35 pm

Here is an excerpt of the 'working part' of the WinUAE Script.
This is from the one included in the archive from the first post.

Code: Select all

; Now lets set our base settings, you can add whatever settings you want from the above lists here:
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||sound_output||%sound_output_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||immediate_blits||%immediate_blits_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||ntsc||%ntsc_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||chipset||%chipset_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||chipset_compatible||%chipset_compatible_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||collision_level||%collision_level_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||fastmem_size||%fastmem_size_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||bogomem_size||%bogomem_size_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||chipmem_size||%chipmem_size_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||cpu_speed||%cpu_speed_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||finegrain_cpu_speed||%finegrain_cpu_speed_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||cpu_type||%cpu_type_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||cpu_model||%cpu_type_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||fpu_model||%fpu_model_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||cpu_compatible||%cpu_compatible_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||fpu_strict||%fpu_strict_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||cpu_24bit_addressing||%cpu_24bit_addressing_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||cpu_cycle_exact||%cpu_cycle_exact_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||blitter_cycle_exact||%blitter_cycle_exact_value%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||statefile||%statefile_value%)

If Control = JoyPort1
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||joyport0||joy0)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||joyport1||joy1)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||joyport0||joy0)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||joyport1||joy1)
Else
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||joyport0||mouse1)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||joyport1||joy0)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||joyport0||mouse1)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||joyport1||joy0)

End If

; Attach correct Kickstart ROM. (You will need to change path and filename to what you are using)
; For example: C:\GameBase\GameBase Amiga\Emulators\Kickstarts\KS_ROM_v1.3_(A500,A1000,A2000)_rev_34.5_(256k).rom
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||kickstart_rom_file||%dbpath%\Kickstarts\KS_ROM_v1.3_(A500,A1000,A2000)_rev_34.5_(256k).rom)

; Eject previous game disks from all emulated Floppy Drives.
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy0||)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy0type||-1)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy1||)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy1type||-1)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy2||)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy2type||-1)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy3||)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy3type||-1)

; While playing a game in WinUAE press [F12] to bring up the menu where you can change which disk is in the emulated floppy drive.
; Attach the main game disk and any other disks if launching a multi-disk game.
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy0||%gamepathfile%)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy0type||0)
Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||nr_floppies||1)

If NumGameFiles > 1
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy1||%gamepathfile(1)%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy1type||0)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||nr_floppies||2)

End If

If NumGameFiles > 2
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy2||%gamepathfile(2)%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy2type||0)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||nr_floppies||3)

End If

If NumGameFiles > 3
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy3||%gamepathfile(3)%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||floppy3type||0)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae||nr_floppies||4)

End If

If VersionComment CONTAINS(WHD)
	Set_CFG_Item(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||filesystem2=rw,DH0:DH0||:||%dbpath%\whd,0)
	Set_CFG_Item(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||filesystem=rw,DH0||:||%dbpath\whd)
	Set_CFG_Item(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||filesystem2=rw,DH1:DH1||:||%gbgamepath%\rezip\%gamefilenoext%,0)
	Set_CFG_Item(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||filesystem=rw,DH1||:||%gbgamepath%\rezip\%gamefilenoext%)
	Set_CFG_Item(%dbpath%\WHD\s\user-startup||cd||||%cd_value%)
	Set_CFG_Item(%dbpath%\WHD\s\user-startup||whdload||||%whdload_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||immediate_blits||%immediate_blits_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||chipset_compatible||%chipset_compatible_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||collision_level||%collision_level_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||z3mem_size||%z3mem_size_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||cpu_speed||%cpu_speed_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||finegrain_cpu_speed||%finegrain_cpu_speed_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||cpu_type||%cpu_type_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||fpu_model||%fpu_model_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||cpu_compatible||%cpu_compatible_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||fpu_strict||%fpu_strict_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||cpu_24bit_addressing||%cpu_24bit_addressing_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||cpu_cycle_exact||%cpu_cycle_exact_value%)
	Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||blitter_cycle_exact||%blitter_cycle_exact_value%)
	If PalNTSC = NTSC
		Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||ntsc||true)
	Else

		Set_CFG_Value(%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae||ntsc||false)

	End If

	Run_Program(%dbpath%\whdrun.exe||%gamepathfile% %gbgamepath%\rezip\%gamefilenoext%/ "%emupath%\winuae.exe" "%dbpath%\WHDLoad.uae" "%dbpath%\WHD\s\user-startup||nowait)
Else

	Add_CLP(-f "%dbpath%\AmigaADF.uae")
	Run_Emulator()

End If
jclampy
New Member
Location: Oceania
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:50 am

Originally included WinFellow Script

Sat May 11, 2013 11:36 pm

Here is an excerpt of the 'working part' of the WinFellow Script.
This is from the one included in the archive from the first post.

Code: Select all

; Now lets set our base settings, you can add whatever settings you want from the above lists here:
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||usegui||no)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||gfx_fullscreen_amiga||yes)

; Attach correct Kickstart ROM. (You will need to change path and filename to what you are using)
; For example: C:\GameBase\GameBase Amiga\Emulators\Kickstarts\KS_ROM_v1.3_(A500,A1000,A2000)_rev_34.5_(256k).rom
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||kickstart_rom_file||%dbpath%\Kickstarts\KS_ROM_v1.3_(A500,A1000,A2000)_rev_34.5_(256k).rom)

; Eject previous game disks from all emulated Floppy Drives.
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy0||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy1||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy2||)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy3||)

; While playing a game in WinFellow you can also press [F11] to access the menu for changing disks in the emulated floppy drives. Click [Start Emulation] again to resume
; Attach the main game disk and any other disks if launching a multi-disk game.
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy0_enabled||yes)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy0_readonly||no)
Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy0||%gamepathfile%)

If NumGameFiles > 1
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy1_enabled||yes)
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy1_readonly||no)
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy1||%gamepathfile(1)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 2
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy2_enabled||yes)
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy2_readonly||no)
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy2||%gamepathfile(2)%)
End If

If NumGameFiles > 3
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy3_enabled||yes)
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||fellow.floppy3_readonly||no)
	Set_CFG_Value(%emupath%\default.wfc||floppy3||%gamepathfile(3)%)
End If

; While playing a game in WinFellow you can also press [F11] to access the menu for changing disks in the emulated floppy drives. Click [Start Emulation] again to resume
; We have finished modifying the WinFellow default.wfc file (for example C:\GameBase\GameBase Amiga\Emulators\WinFellowv051build880Alpha\default.wfc)
; attach our finished config file to the WinFellow command line and launch our game.
Add_CLP( -f %emupath%\default.wfc)
Run_Emulator()
jclampy
New Member
Location: Oceania
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:50 am

Sun May 12, 2013 11:51 am

Just stumbled across what maybe an issue for some users.

The current GameBase Amiga v1.6 WHD game set currently requires ZIP to be a supported file type in GEMUS.

The problem is that if ZIP is set as a supported file type then the GameBase GEMUS system is 'basically' disabled. This is because ZIP will void all other specified supported file types. All game files are zipped, so as soon as GEMUS finds a ZIP file it stops and sends that to emulators. In other words it will stop looking inside ZIP files to find .ADF files and therefore .ADF files stop being extracted and sent to emulators which is the whole purpose of this Quick Fix. So all games whether WHD, ADF, SPS, all are sent to emulators as ZIP files.

What would be better would be if the WHD game set was changed over to an .HDF game set. Then we can specify HDF & ADF & IPF as supported file types in GEMUS without having ZIP specified and everything will play nicely together as well as being able to use all emulators. Also from what I have been told this would remove WHDLoad from the equation as we can send .HDF files straight to the emulators (which means we can use other emulators for WHD games instead of just WinUAE). Game files will still be stored and automatically extracted from ZIP files at launch ofcourse. SPS games are actually .IPF files inside the ZIP files and since we can specify .IPF as a supported file type they won't pose any problems.

The current GameBase Amiga v1.6 WHD game set has no file extension inside the ZIP files that we can specify so there is no other way at the moment. If you want to run the current WHDLoad game set in GameBase Amiga v1.6 you need to have ZIP specified in GEMUS as a supported file type for WinUAE.

Failed to send other than ZIP: Creating a second copy of WinUAE just for loading ZIP and WHD games.
Failed to send other than ZIP: Setting ZIP as Default Supported File Type but have other non-WinUAE emulators set to ADF only.
Failed to send other than ZIP: Setting ADF as Default Supported File Type only but have WinUAE set to ZIP only.

SOLUTION:
Only way you can use this Quick Fix at the same time is if you add and remove ZIP from 'GEMUS WinUAE properties' supported file type each time you wanted to swap between WHD & ADF games (always leave the 'GEMUS default supported file type' as ADF only). You don't need to have a seperate copy of WinUAE just for WHD games as the 'Quick Fix WinUAE Script' will automatically pass the game onto the WHDLoad.uae script so they will work same as they always have. :wink:

Again the best solution to this is for the current (2008) OLDER WHD/WHDLoad game set to be changed over to a (2012/2013) NEWER WHD .HDF game set.
Last edited by jclampy on Sun May 12, 2013 1:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.
jclampy
New Member
Location: Oceania
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:50 am

Sun May 12, 2013 12:38 pm

If you have the SPS game set and it is no longer working then just add .IPF to the GEMUS supported file types.

For example:
ADF;IPF

You could set it in 'GEMUS default supported file types' if you set all your GEMUS 'emulator properties' supported file types to default (I think it might use the emulator at the top of your emulator list in this case?).
Or if you have a particular emulator that you want to launch SPS games, then just add it to that specific emulators GEMUS 'emulator properties' supported file types.
henn9438
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:07 am

Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:12 am

I have a big problem to launch Amiga games with jGameBase

Return to “Commodore Amiga - GameBase Amiga”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests