Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

New, confused, user

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

roundhead
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:49 pm

New, confused, user

Fri Nov 14, 2008 2:09 pm

Have got the emulator and the front end together but some aspects very puzzling:

1. How does one figure out the controls for the games.
Some fire up and immediately work perfectly with an X Box controller.
Some others work fine after I've randomly swapped control ports and randomly tapped various keys.
Sadly, some of them just sit there and blink frustratingly at me.
What's going on?

2. I cannot import the "Impossible Mission" d64 file to GB64 front end (file already open) although it works perfectly when loaded straight into the CCS64 emulator.

3. On a number of games I am instructed to "Turn Disk Over" and short of turning my PC upside down I am at a loss as to what to do.


All the above problems may be due to me being a complete thicky (highly likely) and I'll bet sorting them will be a doddle for other forum users.

Cheers
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

help

Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:24 pm

This pic shows how to swap a disk using VICE.

Image

as for your Impossible Mission problem.
check your C:\GBGame\Rezip DIR is empty.

most arcade game controls are with joystick Port2.

check you aren't using Cursor Keys as your joystick keyset
in the emulator, as it might cause selection problems.

F keys are also a good place to start for game options.

For old games it's trail and error guessing the game keys if you haven't got the docs.
roundhead
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:49 pm

Sat Nov 15, 2008 5:06 pm

Thanks for the assistance - much appreciated.

Unfortunately, I am using CCS64 not VICE but I'm sure the solution will be similar.
User avatar
Mayhem
GB64 Team
Contact:
Location: Londonish
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:44 am

Sun Nov 16, 2008 12:08 am

For CCS, hit Alt 8, select new disk side, hit F4.
Lie with passion and be forever damned...
roundhead
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:49 pm

Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:07 pm

Mayhem wrote:For CCS, hit Alt 8, select new disk side, hit F4.
I will try that then - thanks again.
roundhead
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:49 pm

Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:11 pm

roundhead wrote:
Mayhem wrote:For CCS, hit Alt 8, select new disk side, hit F4.
I will try that then - thanks again.
That worked a treat but "C:\GBGame\Rezip DIR" is a bit of a poser.
merman
Cool Member
Cool Member
Contact:
Location: Skegness, UK
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 4:02 pm

Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:52 am

Gamebase stores the games as ZIP files, and unzips them to that directory temporarily.

When you quit the emulator and go back to Gamebase, you may be asked if you want to re-zip the files - this will happen if the game has saved high scores, for example.
roundhead
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:49 pm

Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:00 am

merman wrote:Gamebase stores the games as ZIP files, and unzips them to that directory temporarily.

When you quit the emulator and go back to Gamebase, you may be asked if you want to re-zip the files - this will happen if the game has saved high scores, for example.
Thanks for the info - it's just that I unZIP the games first and then import the unZIPped files into Gamebase.

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests