Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Game specific Command Line Parameter

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

trebor
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:46 am

Game specific Command Line Parameter

Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:41 am

When using WinVice the default configuration for most of my gaming is NTSC as I am a US user who plays mostly NTSC releases of C64 games.

However, there are certain titles (I.E. Ocean's port of Donkey Kong, Rambo) which run better or require the machine type of PAL.

The command line parameter is:
-pal

How do I set game specifc command line parameters? Again, the machine type in WinVice is set to NTSC. However, when I want to play one of the aforementioned PAL titles, the command line for it to run properly is for example:

x64.exe -pal "D:\RNI\C64 Disk Images\D\donkey_kong_ocean\donkey_kong_ocean.d64"

How do I specify that "-pal" option for only certain games under GB?

Thanks,
Trebor
hzwetsloot
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:13 pm

Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:10 am

Hi Trebor,

Why not create two shortcuts to the x64 start file?
One with, and one without the -pal addition in the command line to start x64?
Should work, as long as you close x64 before changing between NTSC and PAL by starting it up using the correct shortcut.

Greetings,
Hans (The Netherlands, where it is PAL all the way. <G>)
User avatar
K.C.
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 416
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 9:57 am

Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:53 am

These lines are part of the standard GEMUS script for WinVICE:

Code: Select all

	;-----------------
	;PAL or NTSC setup
	;-----------------
	If PalNTSC = NTSC
		Add_CLP( -ntsc)
	Else
		Add_CLP( -pal)
	End If
It will add -ntsc to the command line options if PAL/NTSC is set to NTSC for the currently selected game.
For all other PAL/NTSC settings -pal is appended.
To reverse this behaviour (always NTSC, except for games that require PAL, change the GEMUS code to:

Code: Select all

	;-----------------
	;PAL or NTSC setup
	;-----------------
	If PalNTSC = PAL
		Add_CLP( -pal)
	Else
		Add_CLP( -ntsc)
	End If
Hope this helps.
trebor
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:46 am

Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:29 pm

Thanks hzwetsloot for the suggestion, but I want to launch from within Gamebase.

K.C. - Perfect...With those details I figured out what I needed to do to specify the change per game. I really appreciate it.

Take Care All,
Trebor

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 0 guests