Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Discuss GameBase, the Universal Emulator Frontend!

Moderator: Jimbo

User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Wed Jul 24, 2019 5:01 pm

Thanks,

All these new versions of VICE are a real pain for windows users.
lot's of new features, but the trusted old ones are broken.

GTK3 seems to be missing the -joydev# commands.
so it's goodbye for gamebase automation. :(

this should work??
Add_CLP( -controlport1device 1 -controlport2device 1)
Add_CLP( -joydev2 4)
Add_CLP( -joydev1 3)

Emu bombs with any joydev value.

is the code still there, with a typo or something... :wink:
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Wed Jul 24, 2019 7:56 pm

Don't think so, Joydev isn't mentioned in list of command line options.
See full list in Help -> Command line options dropdown menu.
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:37 pm

It's a shame that command has been dropped for GTK3. :(

Also after opening GTK3VICE-3.3-win32-r35896
i noticed it's files are protected from being moved or deleting after closing the emulator.

only after a log-off or shutdown do the files become free again.

Do you know what could be the cause of that?. :?
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Jul 26, 2019 1:43 pm

I don't recommend using the old r35896 build from pokefinder.
It's slow and choppy as there's no hardware acceleration.

Check my link again in 20 minutes for an up-to-date win32 build (r36811).
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:27 pm

Thanks again.
but....
That older slow and choppy version is the only one that opens and runs on my PC.

Every other GTK3/SDL2 version 32bit or 64bit just shows a white screen of death.
or crashes with dll missing errors.
when the dll's are put in the folder, it just crashes without the dll warning.
I have tried countless versions.

These are the only working versions for me in the new batch.
SDL2VICE-3.3-win64-r36803
GTK3VICE-3.3-win32-r35896
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Jul 26, 2019 5:14 pm

Run the exe with -gtkbackend 0 parameter.

Shoddy OpenGL drivers requires this workaround for VICE to work.
It's known to be required by some AMD and Intel GPUs.
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:53 am

It's alive!!! :D

wait... are you calling my PC shoddy? :wink: :lol:

:idea: It might be a really good idea to make the OpenGL setting the default.
If it doesn't open in Windows with a click, you can not save the infereier settings to the ini to make it work, but you could select and save enhanced options.
Many windows owners will just think it's broken, and go back to older versions.

Thanks again!
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:53 pm

No, just your graphics driver. :lol:
It's a workaround added:
Tobias wrote:r36024 adds a commandline option to choose the rendering filter, also bilinear interpolation is default now always (-gtkfilter 0 to disable it).

r36025 adds a commandline option to disable opengl rendering, so you can use the opengl enabled build also with older GPUs that dont have opengl3.2 drivers (-gtkbackend 0).

thats pretty much all we can do for now.
https://www.lemon64.com/forum/viewtopic ... end#858284
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:29 pm

one final bug report.

I get a soundbuffer overflow [crash] after a few mins surfing the menus.
*No game running.

adding [-soundbufsize 350] max available size seems to fix it.

Does the OpenGL setting not even run on your computer?
You might need an essential downgrade. :wink:
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:01 pm

Yep, it runs in OpenGL 3.2 mode (GTX1080).

Anyway, I'm not a VICE developer, I just do compiles now and then.
For bugs you should go here
https://sourceforge.net/p/vice-emu/bugs/
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:42 pm

It looks like -joydev# made a comeback in r36818. :wink:

Grab updated bin from same link as before:
https://tinyurl.com/y78fhx2g
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Wed Jul 31, 2019 4:40 pm

Fantastic!.
Thanks very much.

Hey Michael,
It looks like i need to update the script again... :lol:
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Aug 02, 2019 12:03 pm

Hi Retoplay,
Just for your information...
i won't ever use it myself. :wink:

VSID.EXE in SDL2VICE-3.3-win32-r36821-32865 fails to open [crash].
you might have missed a switch or something in the build.

All other versions open and run ok.
GTK3 32/64, SDL2 64

At least with your builds, we can actually try out the new releases. 8)
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:00 pm

I can't duplicate the crash in r36826 win32 build I've just added.
I thought maybe -make bindist skipped a needed .dll, but not so.

Btw, I thought SDL2 build would work on XP but it doesn't for me.
Granted, I don't use a dedicated PC running XP for this but a VM so that might be why it wont work.
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:33 am

After trying to open the VSID file 10 times in a row.
open,crash. open,crash....
it finally opened and worked.
but that doesn't really make it usable. :wink:

tried making a x32 logfile and got this...

Sound: Available sound devices: wmm sdl dummy fs dump wav voc iff aiff soundmovie
Warning - Trying to read value from unknown resource `KeyboardMapping'.
Warning - Trying to read value from unknown resource `KeyboardType'.
Warning - Trying to read value from unknown resource `KeyboardMapping'.
[end of file]

running the x64 version, i get this...
Sound: Available sound devices: wmm sdl dummy fs dump wav voc iff aiff soundmovie
Warning - Trying to read value from unknown resource `KeyboardMapping'.
Warning - Trying to read value from unknown resource `KeyboardType'.
Warning - Trying to read value from unknown resource `KeyboardMapping'.
SDLKeyboard: Loading hotkey map `sdl_hotkeys_vsid.vkm'.
SDLKeyboard: Warning - Failed to open `sdl-hotkey-VSID.vkm'.
I do see a difference in the 2 hotkey filenames?
it still runs though.

SDLVideo: Available Renderers: direct3d direct3d11 opengl opengles2 software
SDLVideo: SDL2 renderer driver selected: direct3d

SDLVideo: VICII (active) 384x272 32bpp
Main CPU: starting at ($FFFC).
Main CPU: RESET.
SDLAudio: list of drivers:
SDLAudio: 0: wasapi
SDLAudio: 1: directsound
SDLAudio: 2: winmm
SDLAudio: 3: disk
SDLAudio: 4: dummy
SDLAudio: current driver: wasapi
SDLAudio: got proper audio spec.
Sound: Opened device `sdl', speed 44100Hz, fragment size 5.8ms, buffer size 348ms
reSID: MOS6581, filter on, sampling rate 44100Hz - resampling, pass to 19845Hz


so it does stop at the SDL part in x32 log.
I know the win32 version of the SDL2 x64.exe failed to work until one of your builds last week.
So maybe?? the vsid code hasn't caught up yet. :wink:

Return to “The GameBase Frontend”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests