Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Discuss GameBase, the Universal Emulator Frontend!

Moderator: Jimbo

User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:07 pm

Yup, vsid (32-bit) crashed once for me this time. (r36844)

32-bit builds does seem to have a few problems after all, this and ffmpeg being one of them.
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:32 pm

I don't know for sure, but this could be a shoddy vs new OpenGL driver bug. ;)

Testing an old SDL2 build: SDL2VICE-3.1-win32 (2017)
It crashes when changing to full screen mode.

changing the default renderer from DirectX to this: -sdl2renderer opengl -VICIIfull
makes it work for me.

so i guess [-sdl2backend 0] will be a switch in a future version.

i know you only build it. :wink:
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:13 pm

.mad. wrote:
Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:32 pm
i know you only build it. :wink:
Indeed, r36848 is up.
Again, expect win32 builds to be somewhat flakey.

Has anyone tested SDL2 build on a dedicated XP machine ?
Not that I think it'll work, GCC 9.1.0 isn't exactly XP "friendly".
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:23 pm

Retroplay wrote:
Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:13 pm
Has anyone tested SDL2 build on a dedicated XP machine ?
Not that I think it'll work, GCC 9.1.0 isn't exactly XP "friendly".
On my 32bit XP machine it's no go!

error openening file.

The procedure enrty point GetTickCount64 could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.DLL
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:57 pm

Yup, same error I got in my VM, just as I figured it would.

Oh well, XP's been dead/unsupported for half a decade now so I'm not gonna lose any sleep over it. :lol:
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Wed Aug 07, 2019 7:52 pm

Retroplay wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:57 pm
Oh well, XP's been dead/unsupported for half a decade now
My XP machine is alive and kicking, thank you very much. :mrgreen:

Win7 will soon become unsupported by Microsoft as well.
But unsupported doesn't mean dead.

Microsoft just hope you will buy a new computer with Win10 so they can harvest your data. :P
groepaz
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:26 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Thu Aug 15, 2019 7:22 pm

XP is not a supported target for us (not for the GTK3 build anyway), so expect random breakage. The same is true for 32bit builds. Also ffmpeg will be dropped in the near future and get replaced by some lossless codec (we havent decided which one yet, perhaps the same dosbox uses).

That said, please use the bugtracker. Or if you need adhoc fixes - try IRC #vice-dev on freenode :)
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Aug 16, 2019 6:03 pm

.mad. wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:23 pm
On my 32bit XP machine it's no go!
Try the GCC 5.3.0 build I've added.
I installed msys2-i686-20160205 in my Windows 7 x86 VM.
It won't run for me in my VM but that's not surprising since I don't have any hardware acceleration enabled for graphics.
No more The procedure enrty point GetTickCount64 could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.DLL blah-blah though. :)
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:00 pm

Thanks Retroplay,
it does run on XP, but very slowly (unusable).

but 100% better than before. :lol:
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:46 pm

What about x64 (not x64sc) ?

x64sc requires a beefy CPU, it also brings my old Q6600 OC'ed @ 3GHz to its knees. :lol:
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Annoying WinVICE/SDLVICE script issue

Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:58 am

Retroplay wrote:
Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:46 pm
What about x64 (not x64sc) ?

x64sc requires a beefy CPU, it also brings my old Q6600 OC'ed @ 3GHz to its knees. :lol:
i WAS talking about x64.exe on XP. :lol:

i think it's OLD version or nothing for me on XP now.
It has served me well for the last 15 years or so. :wink:

Return to “The GameBase Frontend”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests