Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Basic stuff

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

outofmydepth
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:05 pm

Basic stuff

Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:09 pm

Hello,

I'm a complete novice to emulators and I've fallen at what I think is a very early hurdle.

I have run GBv11 Setup
and gb64c05

I can see a list of games, but none of them seem to do anything.

I'm sure I'm missing some vital files.. perhaps an emulator? I have no clue really :(

I'm running Vista.

Sorry for the idiot questions... I have searched for help but I think it's all set a few levels too high for me and assumes at least a basic grasp of the concept...!
hillelr
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Israel
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:37 am

emulator

Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:05 am

you need an emulator to play the games
download the winvice emulator from here
http://www.viceteam.org/#download (look for winvice in the download section).
i think the installer recognizes winvice if you install it before but i am not sure.
you can go to gamus menu in gamebase and click the first option for emulator which is already winvice

in the emulator path/filename browse to where your installation is.
second thing you need to get is the games its available here in GBC section(not all games though).
you need to tell gamebase where you put your games so click tools-paths in gamebase and browse in the games section to your games.
and now the play button will be enabled when you look at games and you can play them.
One Signature To Rule Them All
outofmydepth
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:05 pm

Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:25 am

Thank you. I downloaded winvice. I got a folder full of stuff but wasn't sure which was the installer. (The readme wouldn't run, doh)

Gamebase is still telling me there is no emulator.
User avatar
Mayhem
GB64 Team
Contact:
Location: Londonish
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:44 am

Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:06 pm

I don't think the current iteration of GB64 is setup to recognise the current version of WinVice. There should be a slightly older version included with the download you got of the package, use that one instead.
Lie with passion and be forever damned...
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1895
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

emulator setup

Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:26 pm

HI,

Download this...
http://www.zshare.net/download/64729869a63ac6ff/

extract the files to...
C:\Program Files\GameBase\GBC_v05\
* please use this Directory,
* as this is where i have set the emulator paths.

it should look like this.
(All the new extracted files are marked.)
Image

Run Gamebase.
from the Tools Menu select Paths.
setup all the paths where your files are.

from the same Tools Menu
select Verify Available Files...
tick all the boxes and click ok.

that's it your good to go!. :D
outofmydepth
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:05 pm

Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:59 pm

Thanks mad,

I managed to do all that, but it's not picking up any games.
I downloaded one from the link above and put it in the folder I set the path to, but I don't think it can see it. :/
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1895
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:04 pm

humm :?
maybe you are linking a sub folder in the GAMES DIR.

you only need to set the path as shown (marked)
Image

inside the "Games" DIR the file structre should look like the following example pics.
Image

Image
outofmydepth
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:05 pm

Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:35 am

I'm still in a mess I think.

1.I don't have that Games folder you showed, so I created it in GBC_v05.
2. Tried to set GameBase to path to that folder, but when I browse to GBC_v05 it only shows Gfx, Scripts, Sounds and Splash.
3. No, my Games DIR doesn't look like your pic, because I had to create it and it was empty until I put (I think) my game in it.

Thanks for your patience!
User avatar
K.C.
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 416
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 9:57 am

Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:07 pm

In GameBase, specify the base folder for your games in Tools, Paths.

GameBase expects every game in a certain subfolder of the Games folder. Also the name should be correct, and even the name of the game image inside the zip file should be correct.

To check in what folder a game should be located, select the game and look in the lower left corner. You will see something like [v01] g1\gameimage_01.zip.
So the name of your Zip file should be gameimage_01.zip and it should be located in the folder g1, under the Game folder you selected.

It is quite a lot of work to do this for every single game, but it is not needed to do this.
There are DVD images circulating the internet (torrents, Usenet) with the complete collection of games (20000!), screenshots, sid files and extras.
User avatar
Mayhem
GB64 Team
Contact:
Location: Londonish
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:44 am

Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:29 pm

If you don't have the games, you'll need to download them as well, they aren't in either of the two packages you mention...
Lie with passion and be forever damned...
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1895
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

download

Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:43 am

@outofmydepth

You have a Private Message!. 8)
wybsterman
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:49 pm

Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:56 pm

i used to be a c64 owner and would love to play those old games again....however i dont know what an emulator is...how to get one..or what to do when i've got one!HELP

I need step by step instructions for how do do it...can anyone help?
wybsterman
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:49 pm

Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:15 pm

i got winvice and have no idea what to do now. i extracted the files after i downloaded winvice thats where i got stuck.... :(

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests